菜单

珍妮弗·杜德娜

IGI 创始人兼管理委员会主席

詹妮弗·A·杜德纳博士是加州大学伯克利分校李嘉诚校监讲座教授,也是化学系和分子与细胞生物学系的教授。她与埃马纽埃尔·卡彭蒂耶合作开发了 CRISPR-Cas9 基因组工程技术,两人因此获得了 2020 年诺贝尔化学奖,并彻底改变了生命之树上基因组学研究的进程。

CRISPR 基因组编辑是一项强大的技术,它使科学家能够以几年前还难以想象的精度改变 DNA(生命密码)。世界各地的实验室已调整其研究项目的方向,以纳入这一新工具,掀起了一场 CRISPR 革命,对生物学和医学、农业和气候科学产生了巨大影响。

除了科学成就外,杜德娜还是公开讨论基因组编辑对人类生物学和人类社会的伦理影响的领导者,并提倡以深思熟虑的方式制定有关安全使用 CRISPR 技术的政策。

Doudna 是霍华德休斯医学研究所的研究员,格拉德斯通研究所的高级研究员,以及创新基因组学研究所的创始人。 她共同创立了多家以独特方式使用 CRISPR 技术的公司,并担任顾问小组成员。

她是美国国家科学院、美国国家医学院、美国国家发明家科学院、美国艺术与科学学院、英国皇家学会和宗座科学院院士。除诺贝尔奖外,她还获得过许多其他荣誉,包括生命科学突破奖(2015 年)、日本奖(2016 年)、卡夫利奖(2018 年)、吕志和人类福祉奖(2019 年)和沃尔夫医学奖(2020 年)。杜德娜的工作使她被《时代》杂志评为 100 年“2015 位最具影响力人物”之一。她是《创造中的裂缝》一书的合著者,该书记录了她的研究以及基因编辑的社会和伦理影响。

传记时间表

1964
詹妮弗出生在华盛顿特区
1971
詹妮弗和家人搬到夏威夷的希洛,她的父亲在希洛的夏威夷大学教授美国文学,她的母亲在夏威夷社区学院教授历史。
1981
詹妮弗离开夏威夷前往加利福尼亚州克莱蒙特的波莫纳学院学习生物化学。
1985
詹妮弗就读于哈佛医学院,获得博士学位。 1989年获生物化学和分子药理学博士学位,导师 杰克·索斯塔克.
1991
Jennifer 在科罗拉多大学博尔德分校担任 Lucille P. Markey 生物医学科学博士后学者三年,与 托马斯·切赫.
1994
Jennifer 接受耶鲁大学分子生物物理和生物化学系助理教授的职位。
2002
詹妮弗和丈夫 杰米·凯特 搬到加州大学伯克利分校; Jennifer 担任分子和细胞生物学和化学的联合教授。
2006
加州大学伯克利分校教授 吉尔班菲尔德 将 Jennifer 介绍给细菌中的 CRISPR 系统。
2008
第一届国际 CRISPR 会议在伯克利举行,由 Banfield 和 Doudna 实验室与 马克·杨 在蒙大拿州立大学。
2011
珍妮弗遇见 艾曼纽(Emmanuelle Charpentier) 在波多黎各举行的美国微生物学会年度会议上,他们开始了合作。
2012
"适应性细菌免疫中的可编程双 RNA 引导的 DNA 核酸内切酶”发表在《科学》杂志上,展示了 Cas9 系统如何在体外工作,并为如何将其用于基因组编辑奠定了基础。
2014
詹妮弗和 乔纳森·魏斯曼 共同创立了 IGI(原为创新基因组学计划,2017 年成为创新基因组学研究所)。
2019
首批美国患者接受治疗 临床试验中基于 CRISPR 的疗法.
2020
诺贝尔化学奖授予詹妮弗·杜德纳和艾曼纽·夏彭蒂埃。

研究

我们推荐使用 杜德纳实验室 追求对涉及的基本生物过程的机械理解 RNA 分子。

Jennifer 和她的实验室最近的工作重点是开发用于基因组编辑的新工具、对基于 CRISPR 的疗法的递送技术的前沿研究、下一代 CRISPR 诊断,以及对 CRISPR-Cas 系统结构和机制的持续研究.

2020 年,COVID-19 大流行促使 Jennifer 和 Doudna 实验室的成员迅速建立了一个弹出窗口 诊断测试实验室 在 IGI,并转向 快速研究项目 帮助解决危机。 2023年,Doudna实验室和Banfield实验室发起了一项新的计划来开发 微生物组的基因组编辑方法 在 Audacious 项目的支持下解决人类健康和气候变化方面的问题。

近期发表的文章如下。 有关 Doudna 实验室出版物的完整列表, 点击此处.

最近的出版物

查看所有出版物
詹妮弗·杜德纳 (Jennifer Doudna) 在其箱子中展示诺贝尔奖章的特写

诺贝尔经济学奖

7 年 2020 月 9 日,Jennifer Doudna 和 Emmanuelle Charpentier 因开发 CRISPR-CasXNUMX 作为基因组编辑工具而获得诺贝尔化学奖。 了解有关公告的更多信息,以及导致该奖项的研究历史:

观看詹妮弗的诺贝尔奖讲座 从 8 年 2020 月 9 日开始,介绍她在 CRISPR-CasXNUMX 方面的工作历史以及基因组编辑研究的未来方向。

媒体管理

对 CRISPR 未来的简短而精彩的展望——PBS 新闻时间
CRISPR 十年:基因组编辑如何改变医疗保健和农业
TED:CRISPR 如何让我们编辑 DNA
与丹·拉瑟的科学对话
Radiolab — 更新:CRISPR
比尔·奈:基因编辑与我们的未来

书籍和纪录片

创作中的裂缝

IGI 创始人詹妮弗·杜德纳 (Jennifer Doudna) 和她的前研究生山姆·斯腾伯格 (Sam Sternberg) 撰写的一本科普书籍,介绍了她在 CRISPR 研究方面的个人和专业经验, 创作中的裂缝 提供 CRISPR 基因组编辑技术的发展、其应用和伦理影响的幕后观察。

被《纽约书评》描述为“每一个关心的公民的必读”,《创造的裂缝》(2017)带领读者踏上科学之旅,生动地探索在短时间内重塑人类未来的意外发现.

密码破解者书籍封面

密码破解者

沃尔特·艾萨克森,畅销书作家 Leonardo da VinciSteve Jobs 与收益 密码破解者,讲述了诺贝尔奖获得者詹妮弗·杜德纳 (Jennifer Doudna) 和她的同事如何发起一场革命,让我们能够治愈疾病、抵御病毒并拥有更健康的婴儿。 此外,随着 COVID-19 大流行的开始,读者可以深入了解 IGI 内部的快速转变。

The Code Breaker 被彭博商业周刊、时代周刊和华盛顿邮报评为 2021 年最佳图书,以及纽约时报 Bestaeller 排名第一的图书,也可在 年轻读者版

人性纪录片电影海报

人性

执行制片人丹·拉瑟和导演亚当·博尔特的专题片《人性》打破了 CRISPR 背后的科学,并鼓励观众思考这种变革性创新的潜在影响。 包括对 Jennifer Doudna 以及 IGI 科学总监 Jill Banfield 和 Fyodor Urnov 的采访。

人性现在正在流淌 Netflix公司,或参观电影 官网 获取有关如何观看和附带教育资源的信息。

联系和媒体资源

Menu

Jennifer Doudna

Founder & Chair of the IGI Governance Board

Dr. Jennifer A. Doudna is the Li Ka Shing Chancellor’s Chair and a Professor in the Departments of Chemistry and of Molecular and Cell Biology at the University of California, Berkeley. Her groundbreaking development of CRISPR-Cas9 as a genome-engineering technology, with collaborator Emmanuelle Charpentier, earned the two the 2020 Nobel Prize in Chemistry and forever changed the course of human and agricultural genomics research.

This powerful technology enables scientists to change DNA — the code of life — with a precision only dreamed of just a few years ago. Labs worldwide have re-directed the course of their research programs to incorporate this new tool, creating a CRISPR revolution with huge implications across biology and medicine.

In addition to her scientific achievements, Doudna is a leader in public discussion of the ethical implications of genome editing for human biology and societies, and advocates for thoughtful approaches to the development of policies around the safe use of CRISPR technology.

Doudna is an investigator with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, senior investigator at Gladstone Institutes, and the President of the Innovative Genomics Institute. She co-founded and serves on the advisory panel of several companies that use CRISPR technology in unique ways.

She is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine, the National Academy of Inventors, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Doudna is also a Foreign Member of the Royal Society, a member of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences, and has received numerous other honors including the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences (2015), the Japan Prize (2016), Kavli Prize (2018), the LUI Che Woo Welfare Betterment Prize (2019), and the Wolf Prize in Medicine (2020). Doudna’s work led TIME to recognize her as one of the “100 Most Influential People” in 2015 and a runner-up for “Person of the Year” in 2016. She is the co-author of “A Crack in Creation,” a personal account of her research and the societal and ethical implications of gene editing.

Biographic timeline

1964
Jennifer is born in Washington, D.C.
1971
Jennifer and family move to Hilo, Hawaii, where her father taught American Literature at the University of Hawaii at Hilo, and her mother taught History at Hawaii Community College.
1981
Jennifer leaves Hawaii to attend Pomona College in Claremont, California, studying biochemistry.
1985
Jennifer attends Harvard Medical School, earning a Ph.D. in Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology in 1989, supervised by Jack Szostak.
1991
Jennifer spends three years at the University of Colorado Boulder as the Lucille P. Markey Postdoctoral Scholar in Biomedical Science, working with Thomas Cech.
1994
Jennifer accepts a position as an assistant professor at Yale University in the Department of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry.
2002
Jennifer and husband Jamie Cate move to UC Berkeley; Jennifer takes on a joint professorship in Molecular and Cell Biology and Chemistry.
2006
UC Berkeley professor Jill Banfield introduces Jennifer to CRISPR systems in bacteria.
2008
First International CRISPR meeting is held in Berkeley, co-organized by the Banfield and Doudna labs with Mark Young at Montana State University.
2011
Jennifer meets Emmanuelle Charpentier at the annual American Society for Microbiology meeting in Puerto Rico, and they start a collaboration.
2012
"A programmable dual RNA-guided DNA endonuclease in adaptive bacterial immunity" is published in Science, showing how the Cas9 system works in vitro and laying the groundwork for how it could be used for genome editing.
2014
Jennifer and Jonathan Weissman co-found the IGI (originally as the Innovative Genomics Initiative, becoming the Innovative Genomics Institute in 2017).
2019
First US patients are treated with CRISPR-based therapies in clinical trials.
2020
Nobel Prize in Chemistry is awarded to Jennifer Doudna and Emmanuelle Charpentier.

Research

The Doudna Lab pursues a mechanistic understanding of fundamental biological processes involving RNA molecules.

Recent work from Jennifer and her lab has focused on development of new tools for genome editing, cutting-edge research into delivery techniques for CRISPR-based therapies, next-generation CRISPR diagnostics, and continued investigations into the structure and mechanism of CRISPR-Cas systems.

In 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic prompted Jennifer and members of the Doudna Lab to quickly establish a pop-up diagnostic testing lab at the IGI, and pivot to rapid research projects to help address the crisis.

Selected recent publications below. For a full list of Doudna Lab publications, click here.

Recent Publications

View all publications
Closeup of Jennifer Doudna displaying the Nobel Prize medal in its case

Nobel Prize

On October 7, 2020, Jennifer Doudna and Emmanuelle Charpentier were awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for their work on developing CRISPR-Cas9 as a genome-editing tool. Learn more about the announcement, and the history of the research that led up to the prize:

Watch Jennifer's Nobel Prize lecture from December 8, 2020 on the history of her work on CRISPR-Cas9 and future directions for genome editing research.

Media

A Decade of CRISPR: How Genome Editing is Transforming Healthcare and Agriculture
TED: How CRISPR lets us edit our DNA
Conversations in Science with Dan Rather
Radiolab — Update: CRISPR
Bill Nye: Gene editing and the future of us

Book & Documentary

A Crack in Creation

A popular science book about her personal and professional experiences in CRISPR research from IGI founder Jennifer Doudna and her former graduate student, Sam Sternberg, A Crack in Creation offers a behind-the-scenes look at the development of CRISPR genome editing technology, its applications, and ethical implications.

Described as “required reading for every concerned citizen” by the New York Review of Books, A Crack in Creation (2017) takes the reader on a scientific journey, vividly exploring an unexpected discovery that has reshaped the future of humanity in just a short time.

The Code Breaker book cover

The Code Breaker

Walter Isaacson, the bestselling author of Leonardo da Vinci and Steve Jobs returns with The Code Breaker, an account of how Nobel Prize winner Jennifer Doudna and her colleagues launched a revolution that will allow us to cure diseases, fend off viruses, and have healthier babies. Plus, readers get an inside look at the rapid transformation inside the IGI as the COVID-19 pandemic began.

Named a Best Book of 2021 by Bloomberg BusinessWeek, Time, and The Washington Post, and a #1 New York Times Bestaeller, The Code Breaker is also available in a young readers edition

Film poster for Human Nature documentary

Human Nature

Human Nature, a feature from executive producer Dan Rather and director Adam Bolt, breaks down the science behind CRISPR and encourages viewers to think about the potential implications of this transformative innovation. Includes interviews with Jennifer Doudna, as well as IGI scientific directors Jill Banfield and Fyodor Urnov.

Human Nature is now streaming on Netflix, or visit the film's website for information on how to watch and for accompanying educational resources.

Contact & Media Resources